BoingBoing and Fasttelco
Fasttelco is now also blocking BoingBoing. Qualitynet also haven’t removed BoingBoing from their block list even after all the emails and phonecalls. Sucks.
Update: You can now visit BoingBoing by just going to 248am.com/bb
Print
Email
Mar 15, 2006



Related Entries
Dear Fasttelco
Fasttelco and Blogspot Friends Again
Fasttelco Copies Apple’s Mac Vs. PC Ads
Dead Bats
Fasttelco Sucks as Usual
14 Comments, add your own...
1. eVoLuTiOn™ | March 15th, 2006 at 9:31 am
What is BoingBoing?
2. Mark | March 15th, 2006 at 9:35 am
its the #1 blog
3. amer | March 15th, 2006 at 11:01 am
hmm this is disturbing news - i wonder what bloggers can do short of just calling or sending emails - i never heard of it before to be honest and checked it out, it looks like a smorgasbord of little interesting tidbits, i couldnt detect anything obscene there - are the ISPS in kuwait on crack? btw im using kems at work and they also blocking it for some reason
4. Marzouq | March 15th, 2006 at 11:21 am
That is really wierd. I called them twice about it, but it seems like you have to just go in and complain. Because they use the same type of content filtering. Did you try asking Rami?
5. Mark | March 15th, 2006 at 11:22 am
i dont need them anymore. just go to 248am.com/bb
6. NeO | March 15th, 2006 at 11:22 am
they’re just gay that’s all
7. NeO | March 15th, 2006 at 11:30 am
thanks mark
8. amer | March 15th, 2006 at 11:53 am
this issue kinda ticked me..i wrote a small rant on my blog - i hope you dont mind Mark but I gave you guys complete credit for discovering this
9. shadyq80 | March 15th, 2006 at 9:03 pm
I have no issues viewing boingboing, and I’m on FT…
10. Mark | March 15th, 2006 at 9:17 pm
what kind of FT connection do you have? At work FT is blocking boingboing..
11. amer | March 16th, 2006 at 2:12 pm
Fastelco’s email reply (which didnt answer my question on why boing was blocked):
Dear Sir,
“We currently have the URL http://www.boingboing.net categorized as
‘nudity’ and ‘entertainment’ beside the site contains free Anonymous Proxy list.
Thanks.
Technical Support.
Fast Telecommunications.”
So just because it is “categorized” as something means it get banned right? Oh and I loved the last line about “besides they have an anonymous proxy list” —- shit they actually admit they go after proxy lists not just nudity
12. Les | March 16th, 2006 at 11:53 pm
http://battellemedia.com/archives/002371.php
This is big news - it was even in the Herald Tribune last week. Lots of people against it and it seems like this American company - Secure Computing and their SmartFilter software is to blame.
13. shadyq80 | March 18th, 2006 at 4:39 pm
256k ADSL
14. Mark | March 18th, 2006 at 4:54 pm
which url are u using, boingboing.net? cuz i just tried it again now and getting the FT block page.
Trackback this post | Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed
Commenting Rules: Any comments that are personal attacks towards other users will be deleted. You are also not allowed to post with the name Mark or Nat since that might cause confusion. Finally, no advertising is allowed, you can't advertise your products or websites here unless its beneficial to the topic thats being discussed. One more thing: We are not responsible for readers comments!